Tonight I was rummaging around in the freezer in the basement, trying to decide what in the world I wanted to have for dinner.  I have been tired of the same old stuff and wasn’t sure exactly what might inspire me to cook.  As I stood up from browsing the leftover shelf, I noticed a container of chopped, frozen basil alongside a bag of frozen cherry tomatoes.  An idea began to take shape.  Pulling out my trusty old Joy of Cooking, I found a recipe for tomato pesto sauce.  Noodles cooking, baby in one hand, I threw the basil,  tomatoes, a couple of cloves of garlic, a dash of olive oil, and for lack of anything fancy- a bit of parmesan powder, into the food processor.  It whirred to life and left me with a paste that smelled just like summer!!  I mixed it all up with the noodles, threw some cauliflower on to steam, and called it dinner.  We all sat down to eat and as I watched my son happily munching noodles coated in almost fresh garden veggies, I began to feel the stirrings of excitement for summer, for the seeds that will soon be sprouting in the basement, and for the garden bounty that will surely follow.  This simple meal, made on a cold day in January, gave me something to look forward to!

 

