Oh my!  It has been so long since I have posted anything and yet so many wonderful things are happening in the garden!  I had all of these gran intentions, of course, about posting every week, taking pictures of my progress, and then I realized that life with a baby just isn’t as productive as I thought it would be.  Well, actually, let me rephrase that… Life with a baby is EXTREMELY productive with things like naps, giggles, crawling around, experiencing a million things for the first time….. It is not so productive when it comes to things that I get up in the morning planning to do!!

Thankfully, I have clocked enough garden hours that the garden almost continues without me.  The potatoes are already as high as the fence, the onions are swaying in the breeze.  The garlic is reaching for the sky, the rhubarb is calling my name.  The artichoke is spreading its beautiful leaves and the strawberries are calling all slugs in for a berry fest.  In the greenhouse/porch, the peppers, tomatoes, broccoli, brussells, lettuce, etc are growing stronger every day.  The basement holds it own treasures with emerging cucumbers, okra, pumpkin, and watermelon.

Most of my Spring has consisted of taking back the garden…… from the weeds.  That is an entire post in and of itself.  The garden is starting to look like a garden, though, and I should be able to eat peas soon enough!  The first year that I gardened seemed so intimidating.  I was anxious for everything to grow, to survive, to thrive, and now it seems to come so much more naturally.  I won’t say that it comes effortlessly, but it is becoming a part of my existence in a way that makes it fun, not burdensome.

Today we took a walk in the yard, my son and I, and he babbled away excitedly while examining the strawberries.  It makes me happy to know that he will grow up eating, growing, and appreciating the bounty of the garden.

