We were laying in bed the other night, waiting for the kids to go to sleep (which is much later than usual due to living in a tent that is not dark until sunset). We somehow started listing the things that we miss. Almost all of them, thankfully, are things that we will have again, but we miss them nonetheless…..

I miss having a living room. (me)
I miss having a shop. (husband)
I miss fresh food from the garden. (husband)
I miss popsicles on the porch. (me)
I miss having a porch to have popsicles on. (husband)
I miss having a swimming pool. (husband)
I miss staying up after the kids go to bed and spending time together. (me)
I miss having dinner at a table. (me)
I miss our church and small group. (husand)
I miss our friends and having people to talk to about life. (husband)
I miss MOPS and my fellow mom friends. (me)
I miss having time away from the kids. (me)
I miss home-cooked meals. (husband)
I miss washing machines. (me)
I miss having more than one room for the kids to play in. (me)

This was where our list ended and we rolled over and went to sleep. It felt good to voice our ‘misses’ and it also felt good to realize that there are not any that we cannot replace with time. In time, we will look back at this list and realize that we have all of these things again and much, much more. Our lives are much harder now, there are so many more decisions to make, but our days are so much richer, so much more full. We are growing as people, as parents, and as a couple, in ways that we never imagined. Some of the growth (okay, most) is painful, but it is good stuff. Do you ever find yourself missing things? Look at your list- Is it full of things that you can have again, or things you didn’t really need in the first place? I am full of thanks today- I am thankful for family, I am thankful for God, I am thankful for my husband and kids, I am thankful for everyone that has been on this journey with us in body and in Spirit. I hope the next time we play the ‘I Miss Game’, our list will be much, much shorter….

