August 22

August 22

August 25

August 25

IMG_0361

Well, here it is……One year later. One year ago we finally began building the house that had been a dream for longer than I can remember. There have been so many challenges, too many hurdles, family tragedy, and more lessons and growth than I can even begin to describe. One year ago we were living in a 10 x 20 tent with two small kids, waiting for the rain to stop so that the concrete trucks could come out and pour the foundation. Today we are living in an 8 x 30 travel trailer while we struggle to get the siding on the house and drywall finished and painted before winter.

I have so many people on a regular basis ask how the house is coming. Are we making progress? Will it be ready for winter? When will it be finished? I do not know how to answer these questions. What is ‘finished’ to you is not the same as what is ‘finished’ to me. I lived in a tent for 3 months. I will live in a travel trailer for 4-5 months. When we move into that house in whatever state of finished it is, it will be a mansion. I will be living in luxury. I will have lights that come on when I flip a switch. I will have a toilet that flushes and a bathroom that is bigger than my current bedroom. I will have a regular sized refrigerator. I may not have carpet. I may not have kitchen cabinets or counters. I may not have a house that is ‘finished’, and it will be wonderfully, gloriously awesome!

It is such an amazing feeling to walk into that house and think of the memories that are embedded into every square inch of that house. I am actually getting excited to think about the new life that will begin in that house, and to see my boys grow and have their own memories there. Our oldest will remember living in a tent. He will remember the process of building a house from the ground up. My younger son will not remember, but I believe his life will be shaped by his ability to adapt to life in any circumstance. The new baby will have to suffer endless stories about the crazy life we lived. All of us will be better for it.

We have so much left to do to be comfortable this winter. The septic has to be finished and the well put in. We have to complete the wiring and install the solar system. We need to hang the rest of the drywall, finish it, and paint. The siding needs to be put up. The wood stove will need to be installed with wood chopped and stacked. I have wavered between feelings of anxiety about the work that needs to be done, complete panic about it NOT being done, and comfort, knowing that whatever is done will be fine. Ultimately, though, it is all about perspective. I feel calm because I will not be living in a tent. I know that the travel trailer will be closed up for winter. I will be sleeping in a bedroom regardless of whether it has a door on it or not. I will be using a bathroom that is finished, and I will be cooking and eating in two distinctly separate areas. My kids will be able to play in one room, eat in another, and watch a cartoon in yet another. I find myself comforted by the coming change of season, knowing that it will mark a new chapter in this journey. We will begin our life in this new house, and although there will still be a significant amount of work to be done, it will begin to become our home. We can begin to construct our vision for what we want the property to become, to talk about the garden, the livestock, the landscaping, the outbuildings. We can dream again and relax in the knowledge that what we want, we can accomplish. We can rejuvenate, recuperate, and reflect. We can begin a new year of this crazy adventure, eagerly awaiting what God has in store for us!

11692786_10207098803327354_7945654739376678388_n

